Puppy Buying 101

In the interest of not wasting my time or anyone else’s, I want to talk a little about how best to approach a breeder when you are looking for a puppy, and since this blog post from 2009 is still my gold standard when talking about “Puppy Buyer Etiquette,” I’m going to link to it rather than recreate the wheel.

Points 1 and 2 of that post are particular favorites of mine, namely:  Look for a breeder, not a particular puppy; and thoroughly introduce yourself in that first email you send.  Like that author, I too pay little attention to emails that read, in their entirety, “Do you have any puppies? How much?”  My answer to those kind of emails is equally short, and then they go into the recycle bin rather than the folder I keep of what I consider “serious” puppy inquiries.

Though I do list my phone number on the contact page, it is really NOT the best way to get in touch with me initially.  One, because I never answer my phone unless I recognize the number calling; and Two, to be perfectly honest, I hate talking on the phone.  If we email back and forth and then arrange for a phone appointment then that’s fine, but please don’t cold-call me and expect a call back in anything resembling a reasonable time frame, because it is not likely to happen.  I’m not trying to be rude here, I’m just telling you how I roll.

If we do correspond and I feel like I won’t have anything available within a reasonable amount of time, or if you decide that I am not the breeder you want to work with, I am happy to refer to you to another breeder.  But this way, we’ll at least get to know one another a little bit first.  🙂

Posted on March 2, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Dayna: Sorry, I should have gotten back to you. My husband and I decided to stay with “our breed” – we just got our third Bully (which makes my husband’s 4th) – an Am Staff Pup from excellent breeding, but with too much white and a spotted nose – so not a show dog – fine by us. And you are right – I was searching breeders – not just pups – I still think you have beautiful dogs – but I am happy with my new baby. Sincerely, Corinne Joly

    On Mon, Mar 2, 2015 at 11:27 AM, Kaleidoscope Cardigan Welsh Corgis wrote:

    > Dayna Dawn Small (AKA Dayna Barter) posted: “In the interest of not > wasting my time or anyone else’s, I want to talk a little about how best to > approach a breeder when you are looking for a puppy, and since this blog > post from 2009 is still my gold standard when talking about “Puppy Buyer > Etiquette,”

Leave a Reply

