Playing Catch-up

I’ve been meaning to post an update about Rue and Lulu (the puppy formerly known as Spring) for a couple of weeks now, but better late than never.

Hands-down, the most fantastic part of being a breeder is placing puppies into wonderful homes, where they fast become treasured family members.  I was so lucky to find such amazing families for Whiskey’s first litter, and the luck continued unabated with her second.

I had the chance to visit with Rue and her family about week before Thanksgiving.  I was headed home from the Springfield shows, and Rue ears needed a little encouragement to stand up tall, so I stopped at Dave and Mamie’s amazingly gorgeous home (I’m starting to think I should require people to adopt ME along with a puppy!) for a quick visit.  Believe me when I say I could not have asked for a better home for Rue.  She is so clearly loved and doted on, and fantastically cared for.  She has an older Pembroke brother in Valentino, who has been very tolerant of this young upstart, and even the cats are tolerating Rue’s puppy antics.

fresh tape

Freshly taped, and thoroughly unimpressed.

I did learn one very valuable lesson during the visit, though:  NEVER decide at just a day or two old that you are not keeping a certain puppy.  I had one of those moments every breeder dreads — I looked at Rue and thought, “Why on earth did I sell this puppy?!”  Still, I wouldn’t take it back for the world.  Rue is right where she belongs, and I’m so happy to have the Wytrwal’s in the Kaleidoscope family.

Enjoying the yard

Big girl ears!

Big girl ears!

About a week after visiting Rue, I visited Tina and Lulu.  This was also an ear-taping mission, but it was again a wonderful visit in Tina’s beautiful home.  Lulu has quickly bonded with Tina and Dewy, Tina’s male Cardigan.  Since I wanted a black girl to keep, I had originally imagined I would keep her, but the Universe knows what it is talking about, and I’m glad I listened when it said she belonged there, because it’s another perfect match.  I’m hoping for some Lulu photos once Tina, her camera, and her computer are all on speaking terms.  😉

Whenever I count my blessings, I always count my now extended family.  Thank you all for taking such wonderful care of your Kaleidoscope puppies, and for loving them so much.  You can’t imagine how grateful I am to you.

Posted on December 15, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. So funny you would post now! I took a “What dog would you be?” test on FB and the answer was “Corgi” – makes me think – maybe this IS my small (big) retirement dog??!

    On Mon, Dec 15, 2014 at 4:26 PM, Kaleidoscope Cardigan Welsh Corgis wrote: > > Dayna Dawn Small (AKA Dayna Barter) posted: “I’ve been meaning to post > an update and Rue and Lulu (the puppy formerly known as Spring) for a > couple of weeks now, but better late than never. Hands-down, the most > fantastic part of being a breeder is placing puppies into wonderful homes, > where they “

Leave a Reply

