Puppehs Puppehs Everywhere!!

I had a great weekend showing off the puppies!!  Melanie, the babies’ other grandma, came down with a couple of her girlfriends on Saturday for some puppy squidgens, then my friend Ashley came over to hang out and get a dose of puppy breath.  BONUS:  Mel’s friend Denise fell in love with my elder statesman cat, and he looked like he felt the same, so at the end of the month he is going to her home for his retirement away from all the dogs and puppies and craziness.  Win-win!!

On Sunday, the Lagmans, who will be taking one of these munchkins home with them in four weeks, came to visit.  Russ got some awesome photos, as did Dawn Bedard-Poulin, who came over with her daughter Nora to visit as well.  Behold:  the wonders of photos from actual cameras instead of cell phones!!

 

HEATHCLIFF:

Heathcliff is emerging as the little pack leader.  He is the first to investigate things and to tell off much bigger, fluffy puppies when they come on a little too strong.

Man on a mission (photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

Man on a mission (photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

He seemed to like Dawn’s daughter Nora just fine.

Sitting with Nora (photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

Sitting with Nora (photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

He does have the sense to look chastised when faced with something a little bigger, though.

"But I'z jus a liddle baby dog!"  (photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

“But I’z jus a liddle baby dog!” (photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

He is a watchful fellow…

"I gots my eye on you!"  (photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

“I gots my eye on you!” (photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

But he has his limits.

Lights out (Photo by Russ Lagman)

Lights out (Photo by Russ Lagman)

A little preview of the ears-up position.  (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

A little preview of the ears-up position. (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

He also does impersonations.  This is me when I see a spider:

(Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

(Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

 

RAIN:

Rain is a pretty self-possessed little thing as well.  She will look you right in the eye, and she is very vocal when she feels she deserves attention and you are not giving it to her Right. This. MINUTE.

Her pensive look (Photo by Dawn-Bedard Poulin)

Her pensive look (Photo by Dawn-Bedard Poulin)

She took the outdoors thing right in stride.

"Hey!  You, human!  Bend down here and pet me!"  (Photo by Russ Lagman)

“Hey! You, human! Bend down here and pet me!” (Photo by Russ Lagman)

She has finally found a good use for the big fluffernutter who has suddenly invaded her territory.

"This looks soft and cushy..."  (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

“This looks soft and cushy…” (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

And she sometimes likes to take a little me-time to contemplate the bigger mysteries of the universe.

"Om nom nom tasty feetz." (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

“Om nom nom tasty feetz.” (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

I’m not making any decisions until we do the “official” evals on October 11, but this girl is a possible contender for staying at Kaleidoscope.  And on another note, Dawn has managed a feat that I did not think was humanly possible:  She took a photo of me that I did not completely and utterly hate.  More than one!!!  The woman has TALENT, y’all!

Keeper?  Maybe?  (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

Keeper? Yes? No? Maybe? (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

 

EDGAR:

Edgar is a little bit more independent than his siblings.  He is perfectly fine with being snuggled, and he likes to play, but he doesn’t come to the front of the pen and demand attention quite as loudly as his brother and sister.

"Yes?  Did you need something?"  (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

“Yes? Did you need something?” (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

Toes continue to be a perennial favorite. (Photo by Russ Lagman)

Toes continue to be a perennial favorite. (Photo by Russ Lagman)

And little girls are okay too.

Edgar and Nora  (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

Edgar and Nora (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

Nap time?  Also awesome.

Chillin.  (Photo by Russ Lagman)

Chillin. (Photo by Russ Lagman)

And don’t you love his little Phantom-Of-The-Opera half-mask?

Edgar phantom of the opera DBP

I would have taken a photo to point out that his face is not the only black/white half-and-half thing he has going on, but thought it might be beneath Edgar’s dignity.  Suffice it to say that he will resemble a billiards set when he reaches maturity.

 

TRYST:

Aaaaaaand, then there is Tryst.  Sometimes I think she might perhaps need to ride the short bus to school; other times, I think perhaps she is the smartest one of all and is just playing cute and dumb to further her goals of world domination.

Tryst chewing shoes DBP

“Oh, flowers! Uh, wait… these don’t SMELL exactly like flowers…” (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

I have begun to suspect that most of the time that Magnum has spent hanging outside the puppy pen has been to give Tryst advice in modelling and public relations.  I can see that she is starting to build a portfolio.

"This iz my partial profile..."  (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

“This iz my partial profile…” (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

"This is my straight-on look..."  (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

“This iz my straight-on look…” (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

"And this iz my right side.  I'd say itz my good side, but really, all of my sides are good."  (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

“And this iz my right side. I’d say itz my good side, but really, all of my sides are good.” (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

"And of course my reposed pose.  But don't be askin' me to roll over onto my back -- I only do TASTEFUL photos."  (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

“And of course my reposed pose. But don’t be askin’ me to roll over onto my back — I only do TASTEFUL photos.” (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

"I can lookz purposeful..."  (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

“I can lookz purposeful…” (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

"...and serious.  This iz the 'PSA look' I'z practicing."  (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

“…and serious. This iz the ‘PSA look’ I’z practicing.” (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

"I'z can do surprized..."  (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

“I’z can do surprized…” (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

"...and even sassy.  Dontcha wanna hire me?"  (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

“…and even sassy. Dontcha wanna hire me?” (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

 

The big kids got some photo love too, though of course the puppies stole the show.

Whiskey, looking svelte and sexy four weeks after whelping.

Whiskey, looking svelte and sexy four weeks after whelping. (Photo by Russ Lagman)

Unimpressed, however, with all of these people manhandling her babies.  (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

Unimpressed, however, with all of these people manhandling her babies. (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

 

Magnum found it almost criminal for all of the attention to be going to these young upstarts.

"Hey!!  Thith ith NOT okay!!"  (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

“Hey!! Thith ith NOT okay!!” (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

The bone is sort of a pacifier for Magnum — he is almost NEVER without it.

(Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

(Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

"Now, thee thith, Trytht?  You should perfect a thexy thneer.  Thith ith mah Elvith look."  (Photo by Russ Lagman)

“Now, thee thith, Trytht? You should perfect a thexy thneer. Thith ith mah Elvith look.” (Photo by Russ Lagman)

Ian, as usual, was entirely unimpressed with most of the proceedings.

"Why?  Why are there MORE dogs here?"  (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

“Why? Why are there MORE dogs here?” (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

 

Elli, on the other hand, has taken quite a shine to Dawn’s daughters.

"Whah look!  It's a little girl chahld!  Ah love little girls!"  (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

“Whah look! It’s a little girl chahld! Ah love little girls!” (Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

(Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

(Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

(Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

(Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

(Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

(Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

And The Red Thing is always ready to have a good time.

(Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

(Photo by Dawn Bedard-Poulin)

Sometimes the fun is at someone else’s expense.

(Photo by Russ Lagman)

(Photo by Russ Lagman)

 

(Photo by Russ Lagman)

(Photo by Russ Lagman)

(Photo by Russ Lagman)

(Photo by Russ Lagman)

(Photo by Russ Lagman)

(Photo by Russ Lagman)

 

I’d say a good time was had by all (or, mostly all.  Sorry Ian.)  Thanks, Dawn and Russ, for the great photos!!

 

 

 

Posted on September 16, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Well, this made my day! The puppies are absolutely adorable…and the adults are pretty cute too. Love the quotes from the whole gang.

Leave a Reply

