Wow, what a weekend!

I promised there would be something dog-related after the show weekend, and boy, is there!

First of all, a huge THANK YOU!!! to Kate, who went above and beyond the call of duty to come home from Boston and get Magnum and Whiskey bathed and spruced up for the Springfield shows, and she did an outstanding job.  When you see a dog every day, you don’t realize how much they grow and change, not until you look at a photo and, suddenly, that gawky, tubey, adolescent boy looks like a real dog!

6 months old

9 months old

14 months old

Just shy of 2 years

Now, at 2 1/2 years old (Photo by Kate Roberson)

 

Magnum’s line is notoriously slow to mature, and he will look even better at three years than he does at two and a half, and better again at 4 than he does at 3.  I’m so glad that I didn’t let the teenage awkwards completely discourage me.  Joanna, Kate, Sarah and Linda:  Thank you for not letting me get down on this silly blue dog.  I will hereby state this for the record:  You were right, I was wrong.

It’s not just me who thinks so, though.  Magnum did well over the 4-day show weekend, going Best of Breed on Thursday under judge Cathy Daugherty; Select Dog on Thursday and Friday under judges William Daugherty and Lawrence Stanbridge, respectively; and Best of Opposite under judge Margaret Reed on Sunday.  That puts him at a total of 14 Grand Champion points, with two of his Grand majors under his belt.

Whiskey went into the weekend needing four points to complete her championship.  With only one point available each day, I wasn’t really expecting her to finish, especially at only 11 months old.  But sometimes, we do better than we expect!

Whiskey was WB both Thursday and Friday, against some stiff competition from Cheryl Black’s very pretty blue bitch, Selena.  She did it a third time on Saturday, so I handed her off to Linda Fowler for Best of Breed.  Whiskey is, like all of my dogs, a big Momma’s Baby, so I can’t say that she acquitted herself well in the ring for Auntie Linda.  But despite barking and pulling at the leash and trying to get to me, she did enough in the eyes of the judge to warrant Best of Breed over the Specials to finish her championship with a bang, much like Magnum did back in January to finish up his CH.  Mr. Stanbridge later gave me quite the scolding for not staying on Whiskey, but he was very complimentary of her.

That makes two owner-handled champions for 2012.  I can’t wait to see what 2013 has in store!

 

Posted on August 27, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Congrats on the great weekend!

  2. You have every reason to be proud (X2)! Congratulations! from Fay (formerly NH, now SC)

  3. I can say with out a doubt she is such a nice Bitch that a broom could have taken her in and by vertue of her composition she did all the winning on her own!!!! When I got her hand stacked, since I knew she would not be overly keen on (me) free baiting, hard to keep her mind on me when where is my mother??? She is so well put together that she basically stacks herself. I knew she looked good!!! but there were 4 specials and a veteran she had to climb over. When the Judge came and said “You’re BOB”
    I said how right you are, to myself and what came out of my mouth was THANK YOU!!!! with such confidence that there was no doubt he made the right choice. She has a bright future as a special and I was pleased I could help..:O} Linda

  4. Terrific, Dawn! What a great team. I am so happy for you. Looking forward to seeing you this weekend! ~Eliza

Leave a Reply

