Some Hopefully Helpful Links for the National

 

If you, like me, looked at the meal prices on the Consolidated Order Form for the CWCCA National in April and immediately reached for your smelling salts,  you may be interested in the following list of restaurants in and around Huron, Ohio.  Heck, even if you didn’t have an apoplexy, you still need to eat some other meals while you’re there, right?   Disclaimer:   I have never visited any of these, so I cannot give any endorsements or… um, unendorsements.  [Shut up, Spellcheck.  It can be a word if I want it to.]

Marconi’s Italian Restaurant – Okay, this one actually looks kind of expensive, but if you have a big win and want to celebrate…

Berardi’s Restaurant – World famous french fries?  I. Am. So. THERE.  Um, after the Megan Competition and the inevitable formal attire debacle.

I-5’s Bar and Grill – Looks fun and funky.

Viking’s Den – There’s no online menu available, but I’m a little intrigued.  However, being as how it’s at a fancy-looking marina, it may be expensive.

Costa Azul Mexican – Bring on that margarita!!

Lemmy’s Restaurant – This looks like a great breakfast place.

If you don’t feel like going “off the reservation,” there are some onsite restaurants at Saw Mill Creek, with varying prices:

Salmon Run

Mariner’s Restaurant

Black Bear Lounge

Trapper’s Deli

There is also a Mulligan’s Restaurant on the golf course that opens back up April 1, but the link to that menu is broken. Sorry, folks.

For the inevitable oh-crap-I-forgot-somethings, there is a Walmart located about 4.5 miles from the resort.

And, most importantly, if you just can’t LIVE without your morning hit of Dunkin Donuts coffee, there IS one,  but you’ll have to venture 6.5 miles away from the resort.  (Methinks my little Keurig brewer will be making the trip to Ohio with me instead.)

Only 85 more days until the National, folks!  Who’s getting excited?

Posted on January 27, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I’ll be there for agility and maybe rally. We are staying the week to play tourist as well…..

  2. Dayna Dawn Small (AKA Dayna Barter)

    That’s great, Taryn. You should come restaurant-hopping with us one of the days. 🙂

  3. The Outback up there, about 4 miles from hotel is real good. We tried it when we were up there in Sept looking a the site again.

  4. Thanks, Dawn! This is very helpful. Irie and I will be there Thursday through Sunday.

  5. My in-laws live in Sandusky, so I will be staying with them. But I can recommend Chet & Matt’s Pizza. Very good! Let me know I anyone has any other questions, I can ask the in-laws for you 🙂

  6. All I need is a Wal mart and a Dunkin Donuts. I’ll bring a Box of Joe and an IV drip.

Leave a Reply

